Congratulations to Alan Kavanagh on winning the 2016 Allingham Songwriting Contest!

The 12 finalists of the Allingham Festival Songwriting Contest were:

Alan Kavanagh - To Yourself Please Always Be True

Jessie Solange - Try

Brigid O'Neill - Don't Make Me Go To Town

Tara Gi - Trouble

Luke Devaney - Selfish Love

Damien Brady - Ash & Embers

Amy O'Hara - Alone

Dickon Whitehead - Better Fingers

Without Willow - The Heatherfield

Avi Mc Gourty - Just Like Snow

Amy Meehan - Tapaidh an Deis

Sunset Ships - Song for Brothers

Over 50 songs were entered into the competition, and while the standard was very high, only a few can proceed to the Live Final in Dicey's on Friday Nov. 5th.

The event is open to the public and promises to be an evening of top-quality music covering a range of styles as all 12 songs will be performed live in front of judges Charlie Mc Gettigan, Ian Smith and Niamh Currid, with John Meehan as MC.

Tickets are €5 on the door.